Skip to content

BREAKING: Senate Passes Shaheen-Portman Resolution in Resounding Show of Bipartisan Support for Ukraine Against Russian Aggression

(Washington, DC) – This evening, the U.S. Senate voted overwhelmingly in support of a bipartisan resolution introduced by U.S. Senator Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), Chair of the Senate Foreign Relations Subcommittee on Europe and Regional Security Cooperation, and U.S. Senator Rob Portman (R-OH), Chair of the Senate Ukraine Caucus, in support of Ukraine in the face of increased Russian aggression.

The Senators’ resolution is a renewed bipartisan message from the U.S. Senate in fierce support of the United States’ Ukrainian partners in response to President Putin’s escalating aggression. 

“By overwhelmingly voting in favor of this resolution, today the Senate spoke with one voice: Democrats and Republicans are united and committed to supporting our Ukrainian partners against the Kremlin’s escalating violence and aggression. Putin will make a gross miscalculation and suffer the full weight of the U.S. Congress if he decides to further invade Ukraine,” said Senator Shaheen. “As we face the greatest national security threat from Russia since the Cold War, the U.S. is more aligned than ever with our European allies. Together, we will provide military assistance to Ukraine and impose devastating punitive measures should Putin forgo diplomacy for a path to war. Our resolution sends an unmistakable message to both Kyiv and Moscow: the United States stands by our Ukrainian partners, today and tomorrow.”

“By acting in bipartisan fashion today, the United States Senate sent a strong message to Russia and the world that we stand with Ukraine. This resolution denounces the buildup of Russian troops at Ukraine’s border and reaffirms our bipartisan commitment to hold Russia accountable if they invade our ally Ukraine,” said Senator Portman. “Today’s action reaffirms our commitment to our allies in Eastern Europe as Russia continues its malign influence and goal of rebuilding the old Soviet empire.”

The resolution is also cosponsored by Senate Foreign Relations Committee Chairman and Ranking Member, Bob Menendez (D-NJ) and Jim Risch (R-ID), as well as Senate Majority Whip Dick Durbin (D-IL) and U.S. Senators John Cornyn (R-TX), Chris Coons (D-DE), Mike Crapo (R-ID), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Kevin Cramer (R-ND), Tom Carper (D-DE), Chuck Grassley (R-IA), Raphael Warnock (D-GA), Lindsey Graham (R-SC), Michael Bennet (D-CO), Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), John Hickenlooper (D-CO), Richard Burr (R-NC), Jacky Rosen (D-NV), John Hoeven (R-ND), Patty Murray (D-WA), Mitt Romney (R-UT), Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), Tim Scott (R-SC), Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Rick Scott (R-FL), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Marsha Blackburn (R-TN), Mazie Hirono (D-HI), John Barrasso (R-WY), Tim Kaine (D-VA), Bill Cassidy (R-LA), Maggie Hassan (D-NH), Ron Johnson (R-WI), Alex Padilla (D-CA), Jerry Moran (R-KS), Jeff Merkley (D-OR), John Kennedy (R-LA), Angus King (I-ME), Marco Rubio (R-FL) Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), Dan Sullivan (R-AK), Susan Collins (R-ME) and Martin Heinrich (R-NM).


Text of the resolution is available here.