Skip to content

Final NDAA 2020 Includes Shaheen, Cruz Bill to Stop Russia’s Nord Stream 2 Pipeline

(Washington,DC) – Tonight, the Senate and House Armed Services Committees released the conference report for the National Defense Authorization Act (NDAA) for Fiscal Year 2020, which includes U.S. Senators Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH) and Ted Cruz's (R-TX) bipartisan bill imposing devastating, targeted sanctions on those involved in installing Russia's Nord Stream 2. If completed, this natural gas pipeline would vastly strengthen President Vladimir Putin at the expense of the rest of the free world. The House and Senate are expected to vote on the NDAA later this month. 

“This provision sends an unmistakable, bipartisan message from Congress to Vladimir Putin that the United States will not sit idly by while the Kremlin seeks to further spread its malign influence,” said Senator Shaheen. “The Nord Stream 2 project threatens Ukraine, Europe’s energy independence and gives Russia an opening to exploit our allies. I appreciate Senator Cruz’s partnership in advancing legislation that will impose highly-targeted sanctions on the pipe-laying ships involved in Russia’s Nord Stream 2 project. I urge Congress to pass this legislation as soon as possible and reaffirm the importance of our European alliances.” 

“Including my legislation with Sen. Shaheen in the NDAA highlights the bipartisan, bicameral consensus in Congress and throughout the government that the U.S. must stop Russia’s Nord Stream 2,” said Senator Cruz. “In the coming days, Congress will pass and the president will sign into law targeted sanctions that will do exactly that, specifically penalizing the companies involved in installing the pipeline. In doing so, we will have protected Europe’s energy security and prevented Putin from leveraging billions of dollars that could be used to fuel Russian aggression. I appreciate Sen. Shaheen’s leadership on this issue, and I will be working with my fellow lawmakers, and with Secretaries Pompeo and Mnuchin, to make sure these sanctions are fully implemented and any violators are tracked and duly designated.” 

The Protecting Europe's Energy Security Act of 2019 (S. 1441) is cosponsored by Sens. John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Ron Johnson (R-Wis.), Tom Cotton (R-Ark.), and Cory Gardner (R-Colo.). The bill passed the Senate Foreign Relations Committee in November with an overwhelming majority, and would impose devastating, targeted sanctions on vessels that Russian President Vladimir Putin needs to complete the pipeline.