Skip to content

King, Shaheen, Rounds Announce Former Governors Caucus for 114th Congress

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, U.S. Senators Angus King (I-Maine), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), and Mike Rounds (R-S.D.) announced the membership of the Former Governors Caucus for the 114th Congress. The caucus, which will be chaired by King, Shaheen, and Rounds, is a coalition of lawmakers who want to use their experience as former state executives to work together in pursuit of practical and pragmatic solutions to the nation’s problems.

“Nothing can get done in the Senate without bipartisan support,” said Senator King. “As former governors, each of us has worked across party lines to achieve results, and together, we can use that experience to make this institution function better. We may not agree on every issue, but we share a fundamental commitment to common sense solutions and are willing to put practicality ahead of partisanship. I’m proud to welcome Senators Shaheen and Rounds as co-chairs and look forward to working with the entire Former Governors Caucus.”

“As former governors we all have the shared experience of working across party lines to find common ground and commonsense solutions to better our states,” Senator Shaheen said. “As co-chair of the Former Governors Caucus, I look forward to working with Senators King and Rounds and all the former governors to bring that commonsense approach to Washington.”

“Former governors are accustomed to making decisions and working across party lines to get things done,” said Senator Rounds. “Our shared background helps us find common ground without checking our credentials at the door. As co-chairs of this caucus, I look forward to working toward bipartisan solutions to our nation’s problems that are workable for state and local governments.”

The Former Governors Caucus has existed since 2013 and includes the following ten members for the 114th Congress:

Senator Lamar Alexander (R- Tenn.)

Governor of Tennessee, 1979-1987


Senator Tom Carper (D-Del.)

Governor of Delaware, 1993-2001


Senator John Hoeven (R-N.D.)

Governor of North Dakota, 2000-2010


Senator Tim Kaine (D-Va.)

Governor of Virginia, 2006-2010


Senator Angus King (I-Maine)

Governor of Maine, 1995-2003


Senator Joe Manchin (D-W.V)

Governor of West Virginia, 2005-2010


Senator James Risch (R-Idaho)

Governor of Idaho, 2006-2007


Senator Mike Rounds (R-S.D.)

Governor of South Dakota, 2003-2011


Senator Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.)

Governor of New Hampshire, 1997-2003


Senator Mark Warner (D-Va.)

Governor of Virginia, 2002-2006