Skip to content

Senators Shaheen, Cruz's Bipartisan Bill Imposing Sanctions for Involvement in Russia’s Nord Stream 2 Pipeline Advances out of Committee

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, U.S. Senators Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.) and Ted Cruz's (R-Texas) bipartisan bill, S. 1441, the Protecting Europe's Energy Security Act of 2019, imposing sanctions on those involved in Russia's Nord Stream 2 project, overwhelmingly passed the U.S. Senate Foreign Relations Committee by a vote of 20-2. Following the vote, Senators Shaheen and Cruz issued the following statements urging the Senate to quickly pass their legislation.

“The Nord Stream 2 project is another means by which Russia can spread its malign influence by exploiting Europe’s energy dependence – a tactic that the Kremlin has a history of deploying,” said Shaheen. “Many European leaders have voiced their concerns loud and clear regarding this pipeline and the threat it poses to Europe’s independence. This narrowly tailored bill is the Senate’s response to those with legitimate concerns in Europe, including many in Germany, who have been ignored. I believe that this bill will help preserve our collective efforts within the transatlantic alliance to counter Russian aggression. I appreciate Senator Cruz’s partnership on this bill and am grateful for the overwhelming  bipartisan support of my colleagues who similarly see the urgency of this issue. I hope we can soon deliver this legislation to the President’s desk and send a message to the Kremlin that the United States will not stand idly by while it tries to sow instability in Europe.”

“Nord Stream 2 poses a grave threat to the national security of the United States and our European allies,” Sen. Cruz said. “The Protecting Europe's Energy Security Act would counter Russia’s expansionism by targeting the vessels involved in the pipeline’s construction. The United States must stand with our European allies, support energy diversity, and combat Russia’s economic blackmail. I am grateful for the serious consideration of this bipartisan measure, and its passage in committee. I urge my colleagues in the Senate to quickly pass our bill and ensure that construction of Nord Stream 2 is halted.”

S. 1441, the Protecting Europe's Energy Security Act of 2019, led by Sens. Cruz and Shaheen, is cosponsored by Sens. John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Ron Johnson (R-Wis.), Tom Cotton (R-Ark.), and Cory Gardner (R-Colo.).