Skip to content

Shaheen & Bipartisan Group Introduce Resolution Condemning Anti-Semitism

(Washington, DC) – U.S. Senator Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH) joined a bipartisan group led by Senators Tim Kaine (D-VA) and Ted Cruz (R-TX) to introduce a resolution condemning all forms of anti-Semitism.

“Less than a week ago, we saw another horrific outburst of anti-Semitic violence at the Chabad of Poway synagogue on the final night of Passover. This latest attack is one in a series targeting the American Jewish community and underscores the urgent need for our nation to come together and unequivocally condemn anti-Semitism,” said Shaheen. “Yesterday was Holocaust Remembrance Day, which reminds us that we are forever bound to the collective promise made in the aftermath of our world’s darkest hour: Never again. This bipartisan resolution reaffirms that pledge and Congress’ commitment to combat anti-Semitism wherever it occurs to ensure that history is never allowed to repeat itself.”

The resolution is also cosponsored by Senators Kevin Cramer (R-ND), Jacky Rosen (D-NV), Todd Young (R-IN), Chris Coons (D-DE), Marco Rubio (R-FL), Catherine Cortez-Masto (D-NV), Tom Cotton (R-AR), Jim Inhofe (R-OK), John Kennedy (R-LA), Josh Hawley (R-MO), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS), Mike Braun (R-IN), John Barrasso (R-WY), Mike Crapo (R-ID), James Risch (R-ID), Rick Scott (R-FL), Thom Tillis (R-NC), Bill Cassidy (R-LA), John Cornyn (R-TX), John Hoeven (R-ND), Johnny Isakson (R-GA), Roy Blunt (R-MO), Mitt Romney (R-UT), Marsha Blackburn (R-TN), Jerry Moran (R-KS), Susan Collins (R-ME), Mike Rounds (R-SD), Roger Wicker (R-MS), Deb Fischer (R-NE), Joni Ernst (R-IA), Pat Roberts (R-KS), Lindsey Graham (R-SC), Steve Daines (R-MT), Martha McSally (R-AZ), John Boozman (R-AR), Pat Toomey (R-PA), Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), Chuck Grassley (R-IA), David Perdue (R-GA), Dan Sullivan (R-AL) and James Lankford (R-OK).

Read the full text of the resolution here and below:

Whereas antisemitism is a unique form of prejudice stretching back millennia that attacks the equal humanity of the Jewish people;

Whereas antisemitism has long perpetrated myths about Jews, including the Russian fabrication of the Protocols of the Elders of Zion and the wide circulation of libelous falsehoods about the Jewish murder of infants;

Whereas, in its most extreme form, antisemitism aims at the physical destruction of the Jewish people, as seen in pogroms, forced conversions and Nazi Germany’s murder of over six million Jews;

Whereas antisemitism has included attacks on the livelihood of Jews including prohibitions on land ownership, campaigns to boycott, confiscate or destroy Jewish businesses, and denial of the ability of Jews to practice certain professions; 

Whereas, in the United States, Jews have suffered from systematic discrimination in the form of exclusion from home ownership in certain neighborhoods, prohibition from staying in certain hotels, restrictions upon membership in private clubs and other associations, limitations upon admission to certain educational institutions and other barriers to equal justice under the law;

Whereas, in the United States, Jews have faced, and continue to face, false accusations of divided loyalty between the United States and Israel, false claims that they purchase political power with money, and false accusations about control of the financial system, along with other negative stereotypes; and

Whereas Jews are the targets of the majority of hate crimes committed in the United States against any religious group, including attacks on houses of worship and Jewish community centers: Now, therefore, be it 

Resolved, That the United States Senate condemns and commits to combating all forms of antisemitism.