Skip to content

Shaheen, Durbin, Cornyn, Portman Lead Bipartisan Resolution to Support Ukraine Against Russian Military Invasion

(Washington, DC)— U.S. Senator Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH) – a senior member of the Senate Foreign Relations and Armed Services Committees – led a bipartisan group of 10 Senators with Senate Majority Whip Dick Durbin (D-IL), U.S. Senator John Cornyn (R-TX) and U.S. Senator Rob Portman (R-OH) in introducing a resolution expressing support for an independent and democratic Ukraine—one that is secure against further Russian military aggression. The resolution comes as Russian forces build up on the Ukrainian border, fueling tensions and raising concerns that Russia is planning a military offensive against the nation. Shaheen is also a member of the Senate Ukraine Caucus.

“While there are issues in Congress drawn around party lines, support for our democratic partners in Ukraine is not one of them. This bipartisan resolution is a clear message of support to Ukraine and a fierce rebuke to Putin’s increased aggression. It is also a reflection of our warning to Putin that we are watching,” said Shaheen. “His military buildup along Ukraine’s border and continued provocations only strengthen U.S. resolve to support Ukraine and its sovereignty. I’ll continue to work across the aisle in Congress to ensure the administration has the tools necessary to bolster our partners’ defense capabilities and keep Putin’s malign behavior at bay.”

“As Ukraine continues to face mounting intimidation and military threats from Russia, the U.S. reaffirms its support for the Ukrainian people and their desire for a democratic and secure nation. Today’s resolution clearly demonstrates that message from the United States Senate,” said Durbin.

"The United States cannot ignore Putin's latest efforts to rob the Ukrainian people of their sovereignty,” said Cornyn. “But Putin should know that America is watching and both Democrats and Republicans agree that this aggression must stop. This bipartisan resolution calls on the Administration to support Ukraine’s sovereignty by providing lethal aid to bolster Ukrainian armed forces and reaffirm our commitment to our European allies, as well as hold Putin accountable for his thuggery."

“I am proud to join my colleagues on this bipartisan resolution in support of Ukraine. As the Co-Chair of the Ukraine Caucus, I have worked closely with Senator Durbin and my fellow Republican members to support Ukraine—diplomatically, militarily and economically.  Now, as Russia positions more than 100,000 troops on the Ukrainian border—threatening their freedom and territorial sovereignty—we must do all we can to stand with Ukraine,” said Portman.

Cosponsoring the resolution are U.S. Senators Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Lindsey Graham (R-SC), Joni Ernst (R-IA), Ben Cardin (D-MD), Bob Casey (D-PA), John Barrosso (R-WY), Chris Murphy (D-CT) and Marco Rubio (R-FL).

Full text of the resolution is available here

Last month, Shaheen led a bipartisan delegation to the Halifax International Security Forum, where she helped reaffirm the U.S. bipartisan commitment to the transatlantic alliance and European partners, including Ukraine. During the conference, Shaheen participated in a bilateral meeting with Ukrainian officials. In June, Shaheen led a bipartisan group of lawmakers to Eastern Europe, including Ukraine, to underscore the United States’ commitment to Ukraine as it works to achieve its pro-democratic aspirations.