Skip to content

Shaheen, Hassan Join Push for Biden to Assign a White House Formula Coordinator to Lead National Strategy

(Washington, D.C.)U.S. Senators Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH) and Maggie Hassan (D-NH) joined Senators Patty Murray (D-WA) and Bob Casey (D-PA) in a letter urging President Joe Biden to immediately assign a coordinator within the White House on infant formula to address the shortage and implement a national strategy to increase the resilience of the infant formula supply chain and protect against future contamination and shortages. 

“We need organized leadership and a clear plan for addressing this crisis. We cannot stop working on this issue until babies are fed,” wrote the Senators.  

In a letter, the Senators outlined how a long-term strategy is urgently needed to ensure parents—as well as federal, local, and state governments—have the information they need regarding shortages, to improve coordination with manufacturers, and to protect the safety of the formula supply. 

“The national strategy should rapidly address immediate needs associated with the shortage, including identifying specific action steps and deadlines for addressing the shortage. It should also provide critical information to parents and caregivers, including where to find formula, how to transition from one formula to another, if needed, and what to do if a medical or specialty formula is unavailable. Additionally, the Administration should outline a long-term strategy that allows for better information-sharing across federal, state, and local governments regarding shortages, improved and ongoing coordination with manufacturers and retailers, and measures for protecting the safety and integrity of the formula supply.” 

Over the past several months, and particularly in light of the massive recall following contaminated formula from Abbott Nutrition, a major supplier, it has become increasingly difficult for families to access infant formula.  

The letter was also signed by Senators Smith, Blumenthal, Reed, Hirono, Rosen, Kelly, Sinema, King, Warnock, Wyden, Merkley, Baldwin, Padilla, Carper, Heinrich, Gillibrand, Markey, Booker, Cortez-Masto, Duckworth, Menendez, Hickenlooper, Brown, Whitehouse, Kaine, Lujan, Van Hollen, and Warren. 

Full text of the letter is here.