Shaheen Helps Introduce Bipartisan, Bicameral Bill to Create Coins to Commemorate the 250th Anniversary of the Establishment of the United States

July 21, 2021

(Washington, DC) – U.S. Senator Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH) helped introduce a bipartisan, bicameral bill with Senator Pat Toomey (R-PA) called the Semiquincentennial Commemorative Coin Act. The year 2026 will be the 250th anniversary of the signing of the Declaration of Independence. As a member of the U.S. Semiquincentennial Commission, Shaheen is working to prepare the nation for the commemoration of this historic milestone with national programs and signature projects. 

The Semiquincentennial Commemorative Coin Act will be one of many opportunities for Congress to help commemorate our 250th anniversary. The legislation directs the U.S. Mint to produce commemorative coins in 2026 for the occasion. The design of the coins will be in part determined by suggestions from the America250 Commission along with public comments and input.

“I’m proud to help introduce bipartisan legislation to commemorate the 250th anniversary of our country’s independence,” said Senator Shaheen. “As a member of the official Congressional commission to celebrate this landmark occasion, I’m honored to help reflect on our nation’s history, as well as the progress still needed to advance our founding fathers and mothers’ vision of freedom. The bipartisan support for these commemorative coins shows our unified commitment to celebrating our great country’s achievements and upholding the promise of America in the years to come.” 

Senators Bob Casey (D-PA) and Tom Cotton (R-AR) and U.S. Representatives Bonnie Watson Coleman (NJ-12), Rob Aderholt (AL-04), Dwight Evans (PA-03) and Maria Elvira Salazar (FL-27) also cosponsored the bill. 

Text of the Semiquincentennial Commemorative Coin Act can be found here.