Shaheen Helps Introduce the Bipartisan Local Radio Freedom Act

March 14, 2023

(Washington, DC) – Last week, U.S. Senator Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH) helped introduce a bipartisan resolution, which states that Congress should not impose new taxes or fees on locally owned radio stations. 

The Local Radio Freedom Act underscores the critical importance of locally owned radio stations to families, small businesses and our communities, and it declares that Congress should not impose any new performance fee, tax, royalty or other charges for locally owned radio stations. 

“New Hampshire’s local radio stations provide Granite Staters with news, weather, entertainment and more. It’s important that they can continue servicing their communities without worrying about increased costs or arduous fees,” said Senator Shaheen. “That’s why I'm proud to support this bipartisan legislation that would block new taxes or fees on local radio stations. I’ll keep working in the Senate to support our local broadcasters and ensure they have the resources they need to inform, educate and serve their communities.”  

The Local Radio Freedom Act is led by Senators Maggie Hassan (D-NH) and John Barrasso (R-WY). Additional cosponsors include Senators John Boozman (R-AR), Mike Braun (R-IN), Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), Susan Collins (R-ME), Kevin Cramer (R-ND), Mike Crapo (R-ID), Steve Daines (R-MT), Martin Heinrich (D-NM), John Hoeven (R-ND), Ron Johnson (R-WI), Angus King (I-ME), Cynthia Lummis (R-WY), Kyrsten Sinema (I-AZ), Dan Sullivan (R-AK), Jon Tester (D-MT), Roger Wicker (R-MS) and Todd Young (R-IN). 

Full text of the resolution is available here.