Skip to content

Shaheen Sponsors Bipartisan Legislation to Require Congressional Oversight of Harmful Tariffs Imposed on Key Allies by the Trump Administration

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senator Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH) has sponsored bipartisan legislation introduced by Senator Bob Corker (R-TN) to require congressional approval of tariffs proposed by the Trump administration that are supposedly justified on national security grounds. This legislation responds to tariffs imposed by the Trump administration on key allies and trading partners including Canada and the European Union.

“The Trump administration’s tariffs pose a direct threat to businesses in New Hampshire and our state’s economy,” said Shaheen. “Businesses across New Hampshire are already starting to see costs increase and are bracing for the full impact of retaliatory measures from key nations including Canada, which is New Hampshire’s largest trading partner. A full blown trade war would be nothing short of a disaster for New Hampshire. Now is the time for Congress to send a clear message to this administration that we will not stand by while it undermines mutually beneficial relationships with our allies that bolster our national security and economy.”   

The bill requires the president to submit to Congress any proposal to adjust imports in the interest of national security under Section 232 of the Trade Expansion Act of 1962. For a 60-day period following submission, legislation to approve the proposal will qualify for expedited consideration, guaranteeing the opportunity for debate and a vote. The requirement would apply to all Section 232 actions moving forward, as well as those taken within the past two years. According to news reports, the White House recently conducted an economic analysis that concludes the tariff policy will impede economic growth in the United States. Senator Shaheen has called on the White House to immediately release the findings of this report to the American people.

The legislation is also supported by Heidi Heitkamp (D-ND), Pat Toomey (R-PA), Mark Warner (D-VA), Lamar Alexander (R-TN), Brian Schatz (D-HI), Ron Johnson (R-WI), Chris Van Hollen (D-MD), Mike Lee (R-UT), and Jeff Flake (R-AZ). A copy of the legislation is available online here.