Skip to content

Shaheen, Cotton Laud Unanimous Senate Passage of National Warrior Call Day

(Washington, DC)— U.S. Senator Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), a senior member of the Senate Armed Services Committee, and U.S. Senator Tom Cotton (R-AR) announced their resolution to designate November 12, 2023, as National Warrior Call Day passed the Senate unanimously. The lawmakers want to emphasize the need for all Americans to reach out and build meaningful relationships with both those currently serving and veterans. These relationships can help fight mental illness and combat the epidemic of suicide among military members. 

“Those who have taken the oath to defend our country deserve our appreciation and support long after their service ends,” said Senator Shaheen. “I’m glad the Senate passed my bipartisan resolution that, if signed into law, would designate a National Warrior Call Day to help raise awareness and strengthen the relationship between veterans and civilians.”  

“Americans can never fully pay back those who serve in defense of America. We can, however, make sure that active military members and veterans have access to the support they need after serving to lead active and healthy lives. This bipartisan resolution will raise awareness on the importance of building relationships with those who defend our freedom,” said Senator Cotton. 

The resolution was cosponsored by U.S. Senators John Boozman (R-AR), Bob Casey (D-PA), Elizabeth Warren (D-MA), Peter Welch (D-VT), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), John Thune (R-SD), Mark Kelly (D-AZ), John Hickenlooper (D-CO), John Fetterman (D-PA), John Tester (D-MT), Jackie Rosen (D-NV), James Risch (R-ID), John Hoeven (R-ND), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS), Rick Scott (R-FL), Chuck Grassley (R-IA), Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), Eric Schmitt (R-MO), Kevin Cramer (R-ND), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Dan Sullivan (R-AK), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI), Senator Ted Cruz (R-TX), Marco Rubio (R-FL), Michael Bennet (D-CO), Angus King (I-ME), Raphael Warnock (D-GA), Joe Manchin (D-WV), Tim Kaine (D-VA), Pete Ricketts (R-NE), Bill Cassidy (R-LA), Mark Warner (D-VA), Chris Van Hollen (D-MD), Jon Ossoff (D-GA) and Ed Markey (D-MA).. 

Resolution text is available here