Skip to content

Shaheen Statement Ahead of Two-Year Anniversary of Russia’s Invasion of Ukraine

(Washington, DC) - U.S. Senator Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), a senior member of the U.S. Senate Foreign Relations Committee and Chair of the Europe and Regional Security Cooperation Subcommittee, today released the following statement ahead of the two-year anniversary of Russia’s full-scale invasion of Ukraine. Shaheen also introduced a bipartisan resolution in the Senate with U.S. Senators Thom Tillis (R-NC), Richard Durbin (D-IL), Pete Ricketts (R-NE) and Ben Cardin (D-MD), Chair of the U.S. Senate Foreign Relations Committee, marking this solemn anniversary.

“For two years, Ukrainians have bravely fought in defense of their homeland after Russian forces launched an unprovoked, brutal invasion. Ukraine’s resistance has defied every expectation, and its citizens continue to heroically defend their land, people and sovereignty against Vladimir Putin’s tyranny. They have shown immense courage in the face of horrific violence, where they’ve witnessed cities burned to the ground and families murdered,” said Shaheen.

Shaheen continued, “We are at a critical moment in this war and make no mistake—our adversaries and our allies are watching what America does next. If we allow Vladimir Putin to continue his unprovoked attack on Ukraine, who knows where he's going to stop. What we do today is going to determine the strength of tomorrow's autocrats because when dictators like Putin are not held accountable for their aggression, their threat to the world grows. If we don't act quickly to support the Ukrainians, all the battles that they've won, all the land that they've reclaimed, all the progress that they’ve made to win back their country could be undone. I urge the House of Representatives to join the Senate by passing the bipartisan national security supplemental bill that will provide Ukraine with the resources and weapons they need to defeat Putin once and for all.”

The resolution was also cosponsored by U.S. Senators Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Tim Kaine (D-VA), John Hickenlooper (D-CO), Chris Coons (D-DE), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY), Joe Manchin (D-WV), Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), Kyrsten Sinema (I-AZ), Peter Welch (D-VT), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI), Michael Bennet (D-CO), Mark Kelly (D-AZ), Raphael Warnock (D-GA), John Fetterman (D-PA), Maggie Hassan (D-NH), Jeff Merkley (D-OR), Tina Smith (D-MN), Ron Wyden (D-OR), Alex Padilla (D-CA), Gary Peters (D-MI), Jack Reed (D-RI), Tom Carper (D-DE), Patty Murray (D-WA), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV), Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Bernie Sanders (I-VT) and Susan Collins (R-ME).