Skip to content

ICYMI: Shaheen Joins Bipartisan Resolution in Support of Anti-Regime Protests in Iran

(Washington, DC) – U.S. Senator Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), a senior member of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee, joined a bipartisan group of Senators in reintroducing a resolution in support of anti-regime protests in Iran. 

In addition to reaffirming the United States’ support for the Iranian citizens who have taken to the streets in peaceful protest and condemning Iranian security forces for human rights abuses, the resolution calls on the international community to continue to publicly highlight and condemn the Iranian regime’s crackdown. It also urges the Biden administration to strengthen international efforts to impose additional sanctions on officials and entities responsible for the violent suppression of demonstrations. The resolution also underscores the importance of the U.S. government and the private sector providing additional support for access to digital communications and internet freedom in Iran.

“As brave Iranians – especially women protesters – continue to face violence and persecution for taking to the streets to demand government accountability and respect for fundamental human rights, I’m proud to join this bipartisan resolution supporting their movement. The bipartisan consensus behind this resolution sends an unwavering message that the United States stands in solidarity with the Iranian people’s fight for freedom,” said Shaheen. “The global community must not take its eyes of Iran, and we must continue to pressure the regime to end its brutal and systemic oppression of its population, especially the women and girls who are standing at the forefront of this movement.”

The resolution was led by Senators Bob Menendez (D-NJ), Marsha Blackburn (R-TN), Chris Coons (D-DE), Jim Risch (R-ID) and James Lankford (R-OK), and cosponsored by John Barrasso (R-WY), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Cory Booker (D-NJ), Ben Cardin (D-MD), Bob Casey Jr. (D-PA), Bill Cassidy (R-LA), John Cornyn (R-TX), Tom Cotton (R-AR), Kevin Cramer (R-ND), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY), Lindsey Graham (R-SC), Bill Hagerty (R-TN), John Hoeven (R-ND), Tim Kaine (D-VA), Mark Kelly (D-AZ), Angus King (I-ME), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Ed Markey (D-MA), Jeff Merkley (D-OR), Chris Murphy (D-CT), Alex Padilla (D-CA), Jacky Rosen (D-NV), Marco Rubio (R-FL), Rick Scott (R-FL), Dan Sullivan (R-AK), Thom Tillis (R-NC) and Chris Van Hollen (D-MD).  

The full text of the resolution is available here.  

Through her role on the Senate Foreign Relations Committee, Senator Shaheen has led Senate efforts to bolster Congressional support for international human rights. A fierce advocate for women and girls in the United States and around the globe, Shaheen has prioritized issues to empower women, which includes fighting for the rights of sexual assault survivors, advocating on behalf of family planning and women’s global health, securing women leadership roles in conflict resolution and peace negotiations and authoring legislation to address barriers that girls around the world face in accessing education. She has long led the bipartisan effort in the Senate to permanently repeal the Global Gag Rule, including through her bipartisan, bicameral bill, the Global Health, Empowerment, and Rights (HER) Act. Shaheen is the author of the Women, Peace and Security Act, which was signed into law in 2017 and ensures women’s leadership roles in conflict resolution and peace negotiations.