Skip to content

Shaheen, Collins to Introduce Resolution Posthumously Honoring Queen Elizabeth II

(Washington, DC) – U.S. Senator Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), Chair of the Senate Foreign Relations Subcommittee on Europe and Regional Security Cooperation, and U.S. Senator Susan Collins (R-ME) announced a resolution today honoring Her Royal Majesty Queen Elizabeth II. The resolution pays tribute to the Queen’s historic legacy and her 70 year reign, expresses condolences to her family and citizens of the United Kingdom and the Commonwealth and reaffirms U.S. commitment to its close alliance with the United Kingdom.

“I remember watching Queen Elizabeth’s coronation as a child as the world bore witness to a 25-year old woman inheriting the colossal responsibility of providing strength and fortitude to her country in the shadow of World War II. She shouldered that responsibility with a unique balance of tenacity and grace for more than seventy years,” said Senator Shaheen. “As we look back at her historic reign, the U.S. Senate offers this resolution to honor Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II and her legacy that is etched into our collective global history. She was a steadfast leader to the people of the United Kingdom during the most tumultuous of times, from wars to humanitarian crises, economic turmoil and much more. She advised fifteen Prime Ministers and participated in diplomatic activities with countless representatives around the world. And throughout her reign, she furthered the close and important U.S.-U.K. relationship, which continues to be pivotal today as we face down global security challenges together, as partners. Our resolution pays homage to her service to the U.K. and the global community that she helped shape for seven decades. My thoughts are with her family, citizens of the U.K. and all those mourning her passing.”

“For 70 years, Queen Elizabeth II has been a source of strength and stability for one of America’s greatest allies,” said Senator Collins. “Her historic reign was defined by her dignity, character, and devotion to duty. She will be deeply missed, but her faithful service and leadership will be long remembered.”

The resolution can be read in full here.

The resolution is currently cosponsored by Senate Majority Leader Schumer (D-NY), Senate Minority Leader McConnell (R-KY) and U.S. Senators Durbin (D-IL), Warner (D-VA), Van Hollen (D-MD), Cornyn (R-TX), Murray (D-WA), Coons (D-DE), Hagerty (R-TN), Leahy (D-VT), Padilla (D-CA), Feinstein (D-CA), Warnock (D-GA), Menendez (D-NJ), Risch (R-ID), Stabenow (D-MI), Lujan (D-NM), Rubio (R-FL), Hickenlooper (D-CO), Cardin (D-MD), Baldwin (D-WI), Cortez Masto (D-NV), Hassan (D-NH), Capito (R-WV), Fischer (R-NE), Heinrich (D-NM), Booker (D-NJ), Murphy (D-CT), Kaine (D-VA), Klobuchar (D-MN), Blumenthal (D-CT), Smith (D-MN), Bennet (D-CO), Moran (R-KS), Reed (D-RI), Merkley (D-OR), Cassidy (R-LA), Marshall (R-KS), Graham (R-SC), Shelby (R-AL), Blunt (R-MO), Crapo (R-ID), Portman (R-OH), Hawley (R-MO), Wicker (R-MS) Blackburn (R-TN), Johnson (R-WI) and Cramer (R-ND).