Skip to content

Shaheen, Cotton Lead “National Warrior Call Day” In Support of U.S. Veterans

(Washington, DC) – U.S. Senator Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), a senior member of the Senate Armed Services Committee, and U.S. Senator Tom Cotton (R-AR) introduced a resolution this week designating a “National Warrior Call Day” encouraging community members to reach out to veterans to foster a social connection and in support of mental health wellbeing. Shaheen’s resolution would designate Sunday, November 13th as National Warrior Call Day, which follows Veterans Day in an effort to bolster action from community members in support of veterans.

“The alarming rate of suicide among our veteran community demands an all-hands-on deck approach to provide support and resources to veterans so no one in crisis slips through the cracks. Everyone can play a supporting role in that effort, including members of our community, which is why I’m leading this resolution to encourage friends, family and neighbors to reach out to veterans around them. It is on all of us to remind our hometown heroes that not only are we grateful for their service and sacrifice, but to make clear that they are not alone and have people around them to seek help from and rely on,” said Senator Shaheen. “As the anniversary of 9/11 draws near and in the aftermath of U.S. withdrawal from Afghanistan one year ago, it can be a particularly difficult time of year for many veterans. I appreciate the bipartisan support for this resolution and will work to advance this effort through the Senate.”

“Support for our troops shouldn't end when they return home — but it doesn't always take a new federal program. Sometimes all you need is a call from a friend, family member, or battle buddy,” said Senator Cotton. “Our resolution will remind Americans that they are the greatest support system for our vets, and that a simple call can make all the difference."

The resolution is also cosponsored by U.S. Senators Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS), Jacky Rosen (D-NV), John Hoeven (R-ND), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Elizabeth Warren (D-MA), Angus King (I-ME), Edward J. Markey (D-MA), John Hickenlooper (D-CO), Bob Casey (D-PA) and John Boozman (R-AR).

Text of the resolution is available here.