September 19, 2013

Sen. Shaheen with 2013 Principals of the Year

(September 19, 2013 – Washington, DC

Left to right: Thomas Murphy, Senator Jeanne Shaheen, Kevin Richard)

(Washington, DC) – Today U.S. Senator Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH) congratulated New Hampshire Secondary and Middle School Principals of the Year Tom Murphy and Kevin Richard for being recognized for their hard work and dedication to education. Both Murphy and Richard were honored by the  New Hampshire Association of School Principals (NHASP) which recognizes principals at the high school, middle school and elementary school levels annually. Principal Murphy received the Charles A. Napoli NHASP Secondary School Principal of the Year award for his work at Windham High School and Principal Richard received the NHASP Middle School Principal of the Year award for his work at A. Crosby Kennett Middle School.

“Tom and Kevin are two incredible educators and it’s great to see their achievements recognized,” said Shaheen. “As a former teacher I know firsthand the importance of quality leadership in our schools. Principals like Tom and Kevin are having an enormous impact on the lives of their students and teachers. I commend them for all of their hard work, their accomplishments, and their commitment to education.”

Senator Shaheen has been a strong supporter of public education throughout her career.  In the Senate she has worked to expand educational opportunities for students, particularly leading efforts to boost science, technology, engineering, and mathematics education opportunities. Her legislation, the Innovation Inspiration School Grant Program Act, is currently being considered by the Senate Committee on Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions.